Sri Lanka v Netherlands WC 2011 Warm Up Match: SL win by 156 runs

Tags: ICC World Cup Warm-up Matches 2011, Sri Lanka v Netherlands at Pallekele- Feb 12, 2011, Sri Lanka, Netherlands, Warm-Up Matches

Published on: Feb 12, 2011

Scorecard | Commentary | Graphs

World Cup 2011 Warm Up Match Live Score: Sri Lanka wil host the world cup With two others and his first warm up match Sri Lanka vs Netherlands on the 12 Feb 2011. All cricket fans are waiting for this great match because of Srilankan team and also as a host.

Sri Lanka scored 351-5 in a comfortable 156-run victory over the Netherlands in their World Cup warm-up match on Saturday.

Tillakaratne Dilshan hit a run-a-ball 78 while Thilan Samaraweera (60), Chamara Silva (54) and Chamara Kapugedera (50 not out) contributed to a big score at the Sinhalese Sports Club.

The Netherlands were never in the chase, scoring at a slow rate and losing wickets regularly. Dilhara Fernando took 4-43 as Sri Lanka bowled them out for 195.

Tom de Grooth was the Netherlands' top-scorer with 76 off 96 balls, including 10 fours and a six. His partnership of 80 with Bas Zuiderent helped his team reach a respectable total after stumbling to 117-6.

Sri Lanka captain Kumar Sangakkara won the toss and elected to bat first and his openers Dilshan and Upul Tharanga started aggressively, sharing 117 runs for the first wicket.

Left-arm spinner Pieter Seelaar dismissed Tharanga for 47, caught by Wesley Barresi.

Dilshan hit 12 boundaries before being caught by Eric Szwarczynski off spinner Adeel Raja.

Chamara Silva hit 54 off just 33 balls including seven boundaries and Samaraweera's 60 came off 59 balls, including five fours and a six.

Seamer Mudassar Bukhari returned the best bowling figures for the Netherlands with 2-52.

Sri Lanka's premier batsmen captain Sangakkara and Mahela Jayawardene did not bat, allowing the lower middle order some match practice. The home side also rested ace bowler Muttiah Muralitharan.

The Netherlands is among four associate members of the International Cricket Council playing at this year's World Cup, along with Kenya, Ireland and Canada.

Related News